Short Stories

Alfred: Let’s Talk

19023603_10158870587840551_8470433325012122749_o

Hi!
Are you up for a small talk? I know you’re about to sleep but can we just talk?

Remember the time you passed your math exam? Me? I only remember sermons from mom while dad’s message is “keep going”. I can only remember how badly disappointed my mom is that I am the only child left they can be proud of, but they failed.

I wish you’re here.

Maybe that’s why I got all my focus on with playing basketball.

Oh by the way, My name is Alfred. I’m.. Yes, the one who always wear varsity jackets with the rest of the dudes.

All I wanted is to make my parents proud. I studied well and got other subjects in 90s, i did my best but not everyone gets everything, right? I am not perfect and even if i wanted to for my parents, I cannot be you like you, sis!

Back to my story. I tried my best to make them proud in a different way, I’m the school’s MVP! I’m my teacher’s favorite. My friend’s could testify how good I am as a friend and a brother but my parents didn’t showed up in any school invites. My mom even told me to stay away from my friends because they always invite me to different gatherings.

After graduation, I focused on my work. I strived hard to become a better employee. I was even promoted as a
manager at a local coffee shop.. Oh, do you know set? Anyway, all these good news and stories were only shared between my friends and co workers. I think my parents is too busy for that. It’s just a minor promotion.

Sometimes i wonder, if I’ll have my family in the future, can I ever change that? Because I don’t want my son to hide any success he will have. I want to be there throughout his journey. I want to be proud of him in any small or big victories. I want to be the father who will remind him that it’s okay to fail sometimes.

How about you?
What’s your story?
I wish you can tell everything to mom and dad too. Well, if not, try talking to them. It’s not that I gave up already, it’s just that..

Nevermind.
Just don’t lose hope.
I know Papa God will be there for you just in case the world can’t.

Thank you for listening sis! 🙂
*hangs down the phone*
Ree Bringuelo
 rljbringuelo@gmail.com
positiviree.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

