Self Love

Number 2: Love yourself

freedom_of_life-wide4.jpg

You trusted someone and you end up broken.

It may be a family member, a friend, a loved one or even just an acquaintance.

You expected too much and you end up ripped off.

Maybe because you invested so much emotion that you didn’t see a heartbreak coming.

You see, in this world, only change is permanent. Only change is something we cannot undo. So put into record that emotions change, people change, events change and so are you.

If you feel you have no one to trust but yourself. Worry no more, because you are not alone. We are in the same position as you. I learned that the hard way.

When I was in highschool I put my friends first above my studies and my family. Yes, I still have good grades, my relationship is still intact but honestly my puberty hit so bad that I thought I am born as a superhero. I carried all the burdens my friends have. So I always had panic attacks and hyperventilation whenever I feel I can no longer control the situation.

So put into record that emotions change, people change, events change and so are you.

I usually stay late just to be a friend to anybody I know. I have to make excuses just to put them first because I thought they can do the same for me.

So when I reached college, I realized there are things I have to let go in order to grow up. I cannot be stuck in a part of my life where you can only do is share night sessions without thinking what will be your life after 10 to 15 years.

Before graduation, I met my (ex)boyfriend, we fall in love and yes, there are times I put him first. I was young and in love so I trust him more than myself. I let him in my life without thinking that giving him more than 50% of what I can give is way too much.

Then we broke up.

Now I can’t still imagine where I took the guts to move forward. I am still thanking God up to now for He changed me into something better than I expected.

I am starting over and now that I have a career, I learned the 3 things I need to put in my briefcase wherever I go:

  1. You have to trust God

No matter what, you have to trust God.

There will be times that it’s hard, like you feel you were thrown away, you feel He don’t give you graces, you feel He didn’t bless you or even think about you, There will be times that you feel He’s being unfair and don’t give justice; It’s perfectly normal to feel that way.

It’s normal to get depressed, frustrated or angry at the same time. It’s normal to question him but trust him anyway.

He knows you.

He made you.

He knows exactly what you need.

Now I can’t still imagine where I took the guts to move forward. I am still thanking God up to now for He changed me into something better than I expected.

You have to trust him because there is nothing more “OKAY” than having that “hope” that someone, something up there is watching your back.

So, a piece of advice: Have faith!

  1. Love yourself

You cannot give what you don’t have so LOVE YOURSELF. Choose yourself above anything. It sounds selfish but this is true. When all else fails, I swear you will have no one to run to but a quiet dark place with no one but you and your faith. Love yourself because it will show the people around you that no matter how much they pull you down you will rise. You are YOU; Capable, worthy and a real champion.

You have to love yourself my dear because people will fail you.

Choose yourself above anything. It sounds selfish but this is true.

  1. People will fail you

No matter how kind, caring or compassionate you are, there will be people who will turn their backs at you. There will be people who will judge you with one flaw out of 100 acts of kindness you did for them. There will be people who will not swallow their pride just for you. There will be people who will not say good words for you so you have to do it for yourself.

There will be people who you can call in times of desperation, in times of heartbreak, in times of downfall but they will not be there every step of the way. Their absence will make you feel like you are not worthy and you will feel ugly about yourself.

These are facts, welcome to reality my dear, but believe that you can prevent this from happening only if you embrace the truth and learn to take good care of yourself.13052589_10156784860795551_579086864_o.jpg

I am not asking you not to trust anyone, but I am asking you now to have faith on the One who made you. He is with you from the very start your parents planned of planting you in their hearts. Then have faith in yourself, in your capacity to love, to understand and to trust. Have faith in your capacity to determine which one is right and which is not. Have faith in your feelings, emotions and instincts. Know your boundaries. Know your limits. Be guarded but don’t close your doors.

You cannot prevent yourself from being wounded in this battle my dear, but believe your armor is built with love from the Father. He made you brave enough to go on with life.

I am not asking you not to trust anyone, but I am asking you now to have faith on the One who made you.

Trust a little.

Take Heart.

God Bless!

wp-1459207987332.jpeg

*Photo: credits to owner. Last photo taken by Sis Shiela Dinn-Yu Aquende
2 thoughts on “Number 2: Love yourself

Leave a Reply

